Turlock Uber Accident Lawyer

Rideshare services such as Uber is an easy way many Californians get around Turlock and other California locations. Many recent news stories are about the new laws in California regarding the employment status of rideshare drivers. With so much going on with California rideshare companies it can be confusing to weed out the rumors from the truth.

The Turlock Uber car accident lawyersat Attorney Jeff are up to date on everything happening with Uber and other rideshare companies in California to be able to advise you of the current laws. If you or a loved one has been injured in a Turlock Uber accident we are here to help.

CONTACT US

For Your Free Case Review

What Are the Insurance Policy Limits if I’m Involved in an Uber Accident in Turlock, California?

Uber’s driver’s insurance policy limits depend entirely on whether they are offline or in Period 1,2 or 3. Confused? Let’s break it down.

Offline:

If the Uber driver is offline and is not logged into the Uber app at the time of their California Uber accident, that accident would be covered by their personal California automobile insurance.

Period 1:

If the California Uber driver is logged into the Uber app but hasn’t accepted a passenger, then they are considered to be in Period 1.

The motor vehicle insurance policy limits if the Uber driver is involved in an accident during Period 1 are as follows:

  • $50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person injured in the accident
  • $100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident
  • $30,000 worth of property damage liability coverage per accident

Uber also does provide additional liability insurance of $200,000 in Period 1.

Period 2:

Once the Uber driver accepts a trip, they are in Period 2 and the insurance coverage is the same as Period 3.

Period 3:

When an Uber driver picks up their passenger, they are in Period 3. In both Periods 2 and 3 Uber provides their drivers with:

  • $1 million in commercial automobile insurance
  • $1 million in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage

While this appears on the surface to be a generous amount of insurance coverage, Uber is known for denying liability or attempting to offer a small amount of compensation to the victims of an Uber accident. This is why is it important that you talk to a California Uber attorney at Attorney Jeff as soon as possible after your Turlock Uber accident.

Can I Sure Uber for My California Uber Accident?

Victims of Uber accidents in California and throughout the United States have tried to sue Uber, especially if their Uber driver was operating their motor vehicle in a reckless and/or negligent manner.

Uber’s answer to these attempts has consistently been that Uber drivers are independent contractors and not employees. Because of this, the drivers were operating an independent business and were totally responsible for what happened in their motor vehicles, not Uber.

What Kind of Compensation Can I Receive if I’m in a California Uber Accident?

Under California law, if you or a loved one was involved in an Uber accident you may be entitled to economic and non-economic damages. In a personal injury lawsuit in California, you could receive compensation for such things as:

  • Medical Expenses – Past and Future
  • Property Damage
  • Lost Income
  • Loss of Earning Capacity
  • Pain and suffering
  • Emotional trauma and distress
  • Losses related to a disability or physical impairment
  • Losses related to permanent disfigurement
  • Loss of enjoyment of life.

The state of California doesn’t put a cap on the amount of compensation you can be awarded in a personal injury case. A California judge and/or jury can award you whatever amount they believe to be reasonable based on the evidence you and your Turlock Uber accident lawyer present in court, and the number of your losses.

Keep in mind that California is a comparative fault state. This means that if a California jury decides that you are partially responsible for your Uber accident, then they will subtract whatever percentage of blame they believe you have from the total amount of your compensation.

For example, if the California jury believes you were 25% at fault for your Uber accident, you will receive 75% of the total award for damages.

How Much Time Do I Have to File My Turlock, California Uber Accident Claim?

The time limit in Turlock and throughout California to file a personal injury claim is called the Statute of Limitations. In California, you have two (2) years from the date of your Uber accident to file a claim for personal injury.

If a federal, municipal or state vehicle was involved in your California Uber accident, you have six (6) months from the date of your accident to file a claim against them. It doesn’t matter if you were the passenger, Uber driver, or pedestrian, the time limit remains the same.

Do I Need A California Uber Accident Lawyer After My Accident?

If you or a loved one was injured in a Turlock, California Uber accident, you should contact the Uber accident attorneys at Attorney Jeff immediately. Any rideshare accident can be complicated, and these types of cases are too complex to handle on your own.

The Turlock, California Uber accident lawyers at Attorney Jeff are able to get access to information that you may be denied. As an example, Uber’s driver monitoring information includes how Uber drivers are behaving on California roads and such information as how fast they were driving, any hard braking, etc. Uber will not give you this information. However, a California Uber accident lawyer can force them to release this information.

In the aftermath of your Turlock, California Uber accident, you will face a lot of challenging decisions. It may be hard for you to deal with your injuries and lost wages.

The experienced Turlock, California Uber accident lawyers at Attorney Jeff can help you set a plan in motion to assist you in your recovery. Having an experienced California Uber lawyer by your side to protect your rights can give you peace of mind so you and your family can focus on your recovery.

 

Get in touch with us today to get started with your FREE case review. We’re only a call, click, or short drive away.